#### **ORDINANCE NUMBER 1.02 (4) (d)**

## AN ORDINANCE RELATED TO GENERAL TOWN GOVERNANCE TOWN PLAN COMMISSION

# AN ORDINANCE REPEALING AND RECREATING SECTION 1.02 (4) (d) OF THE MUNICIPAL CODE OF THE TOWN OF RANDALL, COUNTY OF KENOSHA

The Town Board of the Town of Randall, Kenosha County, Wisconsin does ordain as follows:

SECTION 1: Section 1.02 (4) (D) of The Municipal Code of The Town of Randall, County of Kenosha, Wisconsin is repealed and recreated as follows:

#### 1.02 (4) (d) TOWN PLAN COMMISSION

- 1. Membership, Appointment, Termination
  - a. The Town Plan Commission (hereinafter called "Plan Commission") shall consist of nine (9) members: the Town Chairperson or his or her designate who must be a qualified elector of the town; one (1) Supervisor from the Town Board; the President of the Park Commission; and six (6) citizen members appointed by the Town Chairperson with the approval of the Town Board. An appointed member shall be a qualified elector of the Town and shall have been a resident thereof for at least one (1) year. The Plan Commission every September shall designate a presiding officer to serve for one (1) year.
  - b. The Town Chairperson, the Supervisor from the Town Board and the President of the Park Commission shall serve on the Plan Commission during their term of office. All citizen members shall serve at the pleasure of the Town Chairperson subject to the approval of the Town Board. When a vacancy occurs, the Town Chairperson shall appoint and the Town Board shall confirm a successor no later than 90 calendar days from the time at which the vacancy occurred. At the discretion of the Town Board, a commissioner shall hold her or his office until a successor is appointed and qualified.

SECTION 2: EFFECTIVE DATE. This Ordinance shall take effect upon the passage and posting or publication as provided by law.

The foregoing Ordinance was adopted at a regular meeting of the Town Board of the Town of Randall, Kenosha County, Wisconsin, on <a href="#">September 22</a>, 2005.

WN OF RANDALL:

Matt Ostrander, Town Chairperson

Attest: Chyllin Mask...
Phyllis Kaskin, Town Clerk

# ORDINANCE NO. 1.02(4)(d)(1)(a) and (b)

# AN ORDINANCE RELATED TO GENERAL TOWN GOVERNANCE TOWN PLAN COMMISSION

# AN ORDINANCE REPEALING AND RECREATING SECTION 1.02(4)(d)(1)(a) and (b) OF THE MUNICIPAL CODE OF THE TOWN OF RANDALL, COUNTY OF KENOSHA

The Town Board of the Town of Randall, Kenosha County, Wisconsin, does ordain as follows:

**SECTION 1:** Sections 1.02(4)(d)(1)(a) and (b) of the Municipal Code of the Town of Randall, County of Kenosha, Wisconsin are repealed and recreated as follows:

### Section 1.02(4)(d)(1)(a) and (b). Town Plan Commission.

- The Town Plan Commission (hereafter called "Plan (a) Commission") shall consist of seven (7) members. All members of the Plan Commission shall be appointed by the Town Chairperson, subject to confirmation by the Town Board. The Town Chairperson shall also select the presiding officer of the Plan Commission. The Town Chairperson may appoint Town Board members to the Plan Commission, except that the Plan Commission shall always have at least five (5) citizen members who are not Town officials, but who shall be residents of the Town of Randall. Appointments shall be made by the Town Board Chairperson (i) during the month of April for terms that expire in April, or (ii) at any other time if a vacancy occurs during the middle of a term, except that (iii) the appointees of the Plan Commission may be removed before the expiration of the appointee's term by a majority vote of the Town Board. Pursuant to Section 60.62(4)(d) of the Wisconsin Statutes, all other provisions of Sections 61.35 and 62.23 shall apply to the Plan Commission. Under the provisions of Sections 62.23(1)(a) and (d), (i) the Town Chairperson may accordingly appoint himself/herself to the Plan Commission, subject to confirmation by the Town Board, (ii) the members of the Plan Commission shall be appointed to hold office for a period of three (3) years, and (iii) the citizen members of the Plan Commission shall be persons of recognized experience and qualifications, as determined by the Town Board.
- (b) The five (5) citizen members of the Plan Commission serving at the time of the adoption of this ordinance shall immediately have their current terms reconfigured, in a staggered manner, as follows: (i) one

citizen member shall immediately be given an initial one-year term, (ii) two citizen members shall immediately be given an initial two-year term, and (iii) two citizen members shall immediately be given an initial three-year term. The Town Board shall determine which present citizen member receives which of these staggered initial terms. The three (3) members of the Town Board presently on the Plan Commission shall, immediately upon the adoption of this ordinance, have their terms of office on the Plan Commission deemed automatically terminated, and the Town Chairperson shall, contemporaneously, then appoint two (2) members of the Town Board to serve on the newly reconfigured Plan Commission, subject to confirmation by the Town Board. Two (2) members of the Town Board shall always be members of the Plan Commission, appointed by the Town Chairperson and confirmed by the Town Board, as described above. Notwithstanding the foregoing provisions establishing a three-year term of office for the members of the Plan Commission, the term of office on the Plan Commission for the two members of the Town Board shall automatically expire upon the end of the said three-year term, and/or upon the date that his/her term of office on the Town Board expires, whichever date is first to occur.

**SECTION 2: EFFECTIVE DATE.** This Ordinance shall take effect upon the passage and posting or publication as provided by law.

TOWN OF RANDALL

By:

Robert Stoll Town Chairman

Attest: \_

Callie Bucker
Town Clerk